Events Shop Audio / Video USL Home USL Home Facebook Twitter Blog RSS RSS RSS News Stats Scoreboard
W-League Awards Finalists Announced
Winners to be named Saturday at Media & Awards Banquet

W-League News Release

Wednesday, July 25, 2012

TAMPA, Fla. – The W-League today announced the finalists for its 2012 regular season honors. The awards for Most Valuable Player, Rookie of the Year, Defender of the Year, Goalkeeper of the Year and Coach of the Year will be presented at Saturday’s Media & Awards Banquet at the 2012 W-League Championship presented by Umbro in Ottawa, Ontario.

A total of nine W-League teams are represented among the finalists, with the Pali Blues leading the way with six nominations. Pali goalkeeper Anna Maria Picarelli, named to the All-League Team Tuesday, is a nominee for both MVP and Goalkeeper of the Year. Ten of the nominees will participate in the 2012 W-League Championship final four Friday and Sunday in Ottawa.

The host Ottawa Fury boast a pair of award finalists – Katrina-Lee Gorry for Rookie of the Year and Jasmine Phillips for Goalkeeper of the Year. The Seattle Sounders Women, North Jersey Valkyries and Charlotte Lady Eagles also have a pair of finalists each.

Votes for W-League honors are submitted by W-League team management and finalists are determined by All-Conference voting.

2012 W-League Award Finalists

Grace Hawkins, Long Island Rough Riders
Veronica Perez, Seattle Sounders Women
Anna Maria Picarelli, Pali Blues

Rookie of the Year
Katherine Courter, North Jersey Valkyries
Katrina-Lee Gorry, Ottawa Fury
Michelle Pao, Pali Blues
Lynn Williams, Pali Blues

Defender of the Year
Sasha Andrews, Pali Blues
Stephanie Cox, Seattle Sounders Women
Cindy Walsh, Laval Comets
Goalkeeper of the Year
Robyn Jones, Charlotte Lady Eagles
Jasmine Phillips, Ottawa Fury
Anna Maria Picarelli, Pali Blues

Coach of the Year
Samir Ghrib, Quebec City Amiral
Lee Horton, Charlotte Lady Eagles
Mike Jorden, D.C. United Women
Charlie Naimo, Pali Blues
Mark White, North Jersey Valkyries

© 2012 United Soccer Leagues. All rights reserved.
© 2012 Demosphere International, Inc. All rights reserved.
Youth Sports WebWriter Websites, Online Registration Management, Tournament and League Scheduling Systems