W-League Conference Finals Set
Ottawa advances to Central Conference title game

W-League News Release

Thursday, July 18, 2013

TAMPA, Fla. – The schedule for the four W-League conference championship games is set after the Ottawa Fury defeated the Toronto Lady Lynx 5-1 Wednesday night, moving on to meet the Laval Comets in Saturday’s Central Conference Championship.

The Dayton Dutch Lions, Pali Blues and Virginia Beach Piranhas have also earned the right to host championships beginning this Friday. The four conference champions that emerge from this weekend’s action will travel to IMG Academy in Bradenton, Florida July 26-28 to compete at the 2013 W-League Championship presented by Nike.

Virginia Beach (10-1-1) is the regular season champion and earned the right to host the Northeastern Conference Championship, which is set for 8 p.m. ET Friday at the Virginia Beach Sportsplex. The Piranhas will face the Washington Spirit Reserves (7-3-2). In the Western Conference Championship Pali (8-2-2) will face the LA Strikers (8-4-0) at 3:30 p.m. ET Sunday at Cal State Fullerton’s Titan Stadium.

Laval (8-1-3) captured its first Central Conference regular season crown and will host the Fury (7-3-2) at 4 p.m. ET Saturday at Bois-de-Boulogne Sports Center. The Dutch Lions (5-2-3) completed a remarkable worst-to-first turnaround to capture the regular season Southeastern Conference crown and will host the Carolina Elite Cobras at 8 p.m. ET Friday at Beavercreek High School (live on

W-League Playoff Seeds
1. Virginia Beach Piranhas
2. Laval Comets
3. Pali Blues
4. LA Strikers
5. Washington Spirit Reserves
6. Ottawa Fury
7. Dayton Dutch Lions
8. Carolina Elite Cobras

Central Conference Championship
Saturday, July 20 - Bois-de-Boulogne Sports Center, Laval, Quebec
Ottawa Fury vs. Laval Comets, 4 p.m. ET

Northeastern Conference Championship
Friday, July 19 - Virginia Beach Sportsplex, Virginia Beach, Virginia
Washington Spirit Reserves vs. Virginia Beach Piranhas, 8 p.m.

Southeastern Conference Championship
Friday, July 19 - Beavercreek High School, Beavercreek, Ohio
Carolina Elite Cobras vs. Dayton Dutch Lions, 8 p.m.

Western Conference Championship
Sunday, July 21 - Titan Stadium, Fullerton, California
LA Strikers vs. Pali Blues, 12:30 p.m.