W-League All-Conference Teams Named
Finalists dominate conference selections

W-League News Release

Tuesday, July 23, 2013

TAMPA, Fla. – The W-League announced its 2013 All-Conference teams today, honoring the standout players who led their teams during the league’s 19th regular season. The W-League All-Conference Teams, selected through a vote of team management, feature some of the top young women’s soccer talent in the world.

Each of the four teams that will compete in this weekend’s W-League Championship presented by Nike at IMG Academy in Bradenton, Florida are represented on the All-Conference teams, with the top-seeded Laval Comets leading the way with four selections and the Carolina Elite Cobras and Pali Blues each boasting three. The Northeastern Conference Champion Washington Spirit Reserves placed two players on the All-Conference team.

A total of five players were selected for the second consecutive season, while Pali Blues defender Sasha Andrews earned her third consecutive All-Western Conference nod. Earning their second consecutive selection are Long Island’s Grace Hawkins (Northeastern), Laval’s Catherine Charron-Delage and Nkemjika Ezurike and Ottawa’s Alyscha Mottershead (Central), and Brooke Spence of the Colorado Rapids Women (Western).

The W-League All-League Team will be announced on Wednesday, July 24. The finalists for Coach of the Year, Defender of the Year, Rookie of the Year and Most Valuable Player will be announced on Thursday, July 25, with the awards presented at the W-League Championship banquet in Bradenton on Saturday, July 27. Goalkeeper of the Year will also be presented at the banquet.

2013 W-League All-Conference Teams

Southeastern Conference
GK – Elizabeth Hull, Carolina Elite Cobras
D – McCallie Jones, Charlotte Lady Eagles
D – Blakely Mattern, Carolina Elite Cobras
D – Meghan Scharer, Dayton Dutch Lions
D – Ashley Swinehart, Carolina Elite Cobras
MF – Stacy Bishop, VSI Tampa Bay
MF – Leah Fortune, Charlotte Lady Eagles
MF – Amanda Naeher, Charlotte Lady Eagles
F – Emilie Fillion, Dayton Dutch Lions
F – Savannah Jordan, Atlanta Silverbacks
F – Cherie Sayon, Atlanta Silverbacks

Northeastern Conference
GK – Lauren Vetock, Virginia Beach Piranhas
D – Rachel Breton, New Jersey Wildcats
D – Gabby Charno, Long Island Rough Riders
D – Meghan Cox, Washington Spirit Reserves
D – Jessica Kalonji, Virginia Beach Piranhas
MF – Esther Anyanwu, Virginia Beach Piranhas
MF – Amber Stobbs, Wash. Spirit Reserves
MF – Alicia Tirelli, North Jersey Valkyries
F – Jessica Fuccello, New Jersey Wildcats
F – Grace Hawkins, Long Island Rough Riders
F – Shan Jones, Virginia Beach Piranhas

Central Conference
GK – Genevieve Richard, Laval Comets
D – Kathryn Acton, Laval Comets
D – Kadeisha Buchanan, Toronto Lady Lynx
D – Diamond Simpson, K-W United
D – Shelina Zadorsky, Ottawa Fury
MF – Chantelle Campbell, London Gryphons
MF - Catherine Charron-Delage, Laval Comets
MF – Alyscha Mottershead, Ottawa Fury
F – Nkemjika Ezurike, Laval Comets
F – Emily Gielnik, Ottawa Fury
F – Furtuna Velaj, Toronto Lady Lynx

Western Conference
GK – Erin McNulty, Seattle Sounders Women
D – Sasha Andrews, Pali Blues
D – Rachel Daly, Los Angeles Strikers
D – Danielle Johnson, Bay Area Breeze
D – Brooke Spence, Colorado Rapids Women
MF – Melissa Busque, Seattle Sounders Women
MF – Sarah Killion, Pali Blues
MF – Ashley Nick, Pali Blues
F – Ana Borges, Santa Clarita Blue Heat
F – Danica Evans, Colorado Rush
F – Kristen Hamilton, Colorado Rapids Women