W-League Championship Participants Set
Charlotte, LA, Ottawa, Washington to fight for title











W-League News Release

Sunday, July 20, 2014

TAMPA, Fla. – The participants for the 2014 W-League Championship presented by Nike have been determined, with the Charlotte Lady Eagles, LA Blues, Ottawa Fury FC and Washington Spirit Reserves set for Friday’s semifinals at IMG Academy in Bradenton, Florida. The semifinal winners will advance to the 2014 W-League Championship final at 2:30 p.m. ET Sunday.

Both of Friday’s semifinal matchups and Sunday’s championship and consolation match will be available live on the W-League YouTube channel:

The LA Blues (12-0-0) are the top seed after earning their fifth trip to the final four in their seven-year history thanks to a 2-1 victory against the Colorado Pride in Saturday’s Western Conference Championship. Goals from Sasha Andrews and Elizabeth Eddy helped LA overcome an early deficit and earn a shot to defend their 2013 title. They will face the Charlotte Lady Eagles (5-1-4), who took the Southeastern Conference title by defeating the top-seeded Gulf Coast Texans in penalty kicks after a 2-2 draw.

The Central Conference Champion Ottawa Fury (11-0-1) enter the championship weekend as the No. 2 seed and will face the No. 3-seed Washington Spirit Reserves (10-0-2), who earned their trip to the W-League Championship by defeating the Braddock Road Stars Elite in Friday’s Northeastern Conference Championship. Ottawa, the 2012 W-League champions, captured the Central Conference crown Saturday by knocking off K-W United FC 4-0.

2014 W-League Championship presented by Nike
At IMG Academy
Bradenton, Florida

Friday, July 25
No. 3 Washington Spirit Reserves vs. No. 2 Ottawa Fury FC, 5 p.m. ET, IMG Academy Stadium
No. 4 Charlotte Lady Eagles vs. No. 1 LA Blues, 7:30 p.m. ET, IMG Academy Stadium

Sunday, July 27, 12 p.m. ET, IMG Academy Stadium

Sunday, July 27, 2:30 p.m. ET, IMG Academy Stadium