W-League All-Conference Teams Announced
Sixteen Championship participants among honorees










W-League News Release

Monday, July 21, 2014

TAMPA, Fla. – The W-League announced its 2014 All-Conference teams today, honoring the players who stood out most during the league’s 20th Anniversary season. The W-League All-Conference Teams, selected through a vote of team management, feature some of the top young women’s soccer talent in the world.

Each of the four teams that will compete in this weekend’s W-League Championship presented by Nike at IMG Academy in Bradenton, Florida are represented on the All-Conference teams, with the Charlotte Lady Eagles (Southeastern Conference), LA Blues (Western Conference), Ottawa Fury FC (Central Conference) and Washington Spirit Reserves (Northeastern Conference) each having four players honored.

A total of nine players were selected for the second consecutive season, while Laval Comets midfielder Catherine Charron-Delage earned her third consecutive All-Central Conference nod. Earning their second consecutive selection are Leah Fortune and Amanda Naeher of the Southeastern Conference champion Charlotte Lady Eagles, Blakely Mattern of the Carolina Elite Cobras, Genevieve Richard of the Laval Comets, Shelina Zadorsky of the Ottawa Fury, Rachel Daly and Sarah Killion of  the LA Blues, and league scoring champion Danica Evans of the Colorado Rush.

The W-League All-League Team will be announced on Tuesday, July 22.  The finalists for Coach of the Year, Defender of the Year, Rookie of the Year and Most Valuable Player will be announced on Wednesday, July 23, with the awards presented at the W-League Championship banquet in Bradenton on Saturday, July 26. Goalkeeper of the Year will also be presented at the banquet.

2014 W-League All-Conference Teams


GK – Robyn Jones, Charlotte Lady Eagles
D – Lauren Gorodetsky, Atlanta Silverbacks
D – Renee Hurd, Gulf Coast Texans
D – Kailey Mattison, Carolina Elite Cobras
D – Amanda Naeher, Charlotte Lady Eagles
MF – Leah Fortune, Charlotte Lady Eagles
MF – Rose Lavelle, Dayton Dutch Lions
MF – Blakely Mattern, Carolina Elite Cobras
F – Florence Dadson, Gulf Coast Texans
F – Jade Montgomery, Charlotte Lady Eagles
F – Maria Jose-Rojas, Gulf Coast Texans


GK – Samantha Depken, New York Magic
D – Sue Alber-Weber, Long Island Rough Riders
D – Sam Lofton, Washington Spirit Reserves
D – Satara Murray, Washington Spirit Reserves
D – Lorina White, New York Magic
MF – Laylla da Cruz, New Jersey Wildcats
MF – Serina Kashimoto, New York Magic
MF – Yoreli Rincon, New Jersey Wildcats
F – Ashley Herndon, Washington Spirit Reserves
F – Marisa Park, Braddock Road Stars Elite
F – Katie Yensen, Washington Spirit Reserves


GK – Genevieve Richard, Laval Comets
D – Marissa Duguay, Laval Comets
D – Melanie Pickert, Toronto Lady Lynx
D – Melissa Roy, Quebec Dynamo ARSQ
D – Shelina Zadorsky, Ottawa Fury FC
MF – Catherine Charron-Delage, Laval Comets
MF – Arielle Roy-Petitclerc, Quebec Dynamo ARSQ
MF – Lisa-Marie Woods, Ottawa Fury FC
F – Arin Gilliland, Ottawa Fury FC
F – Christabel Oduro, Ottawa Fury FC
F – Leticia Skeete, K-W United FC


GK – Anna Maria Picarelli, Seattle Sounders Women
D – Rachel Daly, LA Blues
D – Danielle Johnson, Bay Area Breeze
D – Holly King, Colorado Pride
D – Kandace Love, LA Blues
MF – Jessica Ayers, Colorado Pride
MF – Mele French, LA Blues
MF – Sarah Killion, LA Blues
F – Danica Evans, Colorado Rush
F – Chloe Logarzo, Colorado Pride
F – Mallory Weber, Colorado Pride


The 2014 W-League Championship presented by Nike will see the Charlotte Lady Eagles, LA Blues, Ottawa Fury FC and Washington Spirit Reserves vying for the title Friday and Sunday at IMG Academy in Bradenton, Florida. The winners from Friday’s semifinal will advance to the 2014 W-League Championship final at 2:30 p.m. ET Sunday.

Both of Friday’s semifinal matchups and Sunday’s championship and consolation match will be available live on the W-League YouTube channel: